Postpartum blues

Cut into two
my heart has ruptured.
You were a part of me
for so long and now
we’re no longer one.
separated, pulled away
with a cry.
Postpartum blues
plague my restless soul.
Cant seem to stop
the swing of the pendulum,
crashing against the shore,
dizzy with worry,
swinging out of control,
spiraling into
the blue abyss…
Your tiny hands
catch hold of my fingers.
Innocent eyes look up
at me in wonder.
And I’m no longer falling.
Anchored to you
my tiny angel.
The beat of your heart
has brought me back to life.

Leave a Reply

