Heartbreak & Hope

Days and weeks go by
with songs of heartbreak on a loop,
‘coz happy songs start off crying jags.
I wonder –
how could a song
that brought me so much joy
make me break out in tears
and curses now?
Binge eating the sadness away
and finding pleasure in the pain.
A wistful sadness tinge
the happy memories.
Meanwhile you move on
as if you’re a snake
shedding old skin.
A silver tongued snake
that got under my skin
faster than you could say
I love you.
Still the song moves on
to happier notes,
the tinkling chime of laughter
fill he hopeful air.

Leave a Reply

