Breakup song

No more apologizing
in the name of love.
No more tears for you.
No more hiding the pain.
No more deifying your voice,
dissecting your words.
Disengage, disconnect, disappear.
My songs too
young for you
my youth too jarring.
I tried to grasp at
the faint shards
happiness we shared.
But the lies you spoke,
the broken promises you made
are burning the bridges
between us.
The shadows of what ifs
haunting us.
Your ghosts down every
memory lane.
I can’t erase you.
But I can very well
turn the page.

Leave a Reply

